Yoga Retreats in Rishikesh
Yoga Retreats in Rishikesh means a structured period focused on daily yoga and meditation practice, usually in an ashram or retreat centre with meals and accommodation arranged by the provider.
Wellness is not medical treatment. Every fact below is quoted from an official tourism, government or credential body, or from a provider's own published page, with the date we checked it (13 Sep 2026). Prices are published examples, not partner inventory and not a market average.
1.What yoga retreats in Rishikesh is
A yoga retreat in Rishikesh is a short residential stay, typically 3 to 7 days, with two or more guided practice sessions a day, meditation, and simple vegetarian meals, most often in an ashram. Teacher training is a different thing: a course of fixed length (commonly 200 hours over about four weeks) that ends in a certificate. This page is about retreats and ashram stays; the credentials block explains what a certificate does and does not mean.
- According to Uttarakhand Tourism: Uttarakhand Tourism describes Rishikesh as commonly referred to as the yoga capital of the world, with numerous ashrams, some internationally recognised as centres of yoga and philosophical studies.
Source text, Rishikesh (destination page), checked 13 Sep 2026
Rishikesh is commonly referred to as the ‘yoga capital of the world’ and rightly so. The destination is abuzz with visitors, who come here to learn yoga and meditation. Rishikesh has numerous ashrams, some of which are internationally recognised as centres of philosophical studies, yoga and other ancient Indian traditions of wellness.
Rishikesh (destination page)
- According to Yoga Niketan Ashram (provider): Yoga Niketan Ashram publishes three formats: a 365-day ashram living experience, a 200-hour teacher training and a retreat programme.
Source text, Yoga Niketan Ashram: Book Your Stay (ashram living, day-wise tariff), checked 13 Sep 2026
we offer 3 different programs: 365 days ashram living experience, 200 Hours Yoga Teachers Training Program, 7 Days Retreat program
Yoga Niketan Ashram: Book Your Stay (ashram living, day-wise tariff)
2.Who it may suit
Beginners and experienced practitioners alike, provided they are comfortable with an ashram's rules: early mornings, a fixed timetable, vegetarian food and, at many ashrams, no alcohol and limited noise. Some ashrams restrict who may stay (for example only married couples), so ask before booking. A retreat is practice, not treatment; anyone with an injury or condition should talk to a doctor and tell the teacher.
- According to Uttarakhand Tourism: Both ashrams and resorts offer yoga sessions and courses, and the Swargashram cluster of ashrams on the east bank offers courses on yoga and spiritual studies.
Source text, Rishikesh (destination page), checked 13 Sep 2026
With ashrams and luxurious resorts both offering yoga sessions and courses, Rishikesh has something for every yoga enthusiast.
Rishikesh (destination page)A cluster of ashrams on the eastern bank of the Ganga is popularly known as Swargashram. Most of these ashrams offer courses on yoga and spiritual studies, and are well-known among tourists.
Rishikesh (destination page)
3.Program formats and durations
Durations below are provider-published. All three sourced examples are from one ashram listed by Uttarakhand Tourism; the other listed centres publish dates or ask for a donation rather than a tariff, so they carry no figure here.
| Program | Provider | Duration | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ashram living experience (day-wise) | Yoga Niketan Ashram, Rishikesh | 1 day / 1 night | Ashram stay with daily yoga and meditation |
| Yogic Lifestyle Retreat, 3 days / 2 nights | Yoga Niketan Ashram, Rishikesh | 3 days / 2 nights | Short yoga retreat |
| Yogic Lifestyle Retreat, 5 days | Yoga Niketan Ashram, Rishikesh | 5 days / 4 nights | Short yoga retreat |
- According to Yoga Niketan Ashram (provider): Its ashram living package is day-wise and includes three meals, two yoga sessions and two meditation sessions a day.
Source text, Yoga Niketan Ashram: Book Your Stay (ashram living, day-wise tariff), checked 13 Sep 2026
We offer a day-wise package that includes three meals, two yoga sessions, two meditation sessions, and various other spiritual activities led by our experienced teachers.
Yoga Niketan Ashram: Book Your Stay (ashram living, day-wise tariff)
- According to Parmarth Niketan (provider): Parmarth Niketan's courses include ashram accommodation and freshly prepared vegetarian sattvic meals; its 200-hour teacher training runs 27 September to 23 October 2026 and its Vedanta course is one week.
Source text, Parmarth School of Yoga: courses and retreats, checked 13 Sep 2026
Accommodation in Beautiful Parmarth Niketan Ashram
Parmarth School of Yoga: courses and retreatsFreshly Prepared Vegetarian Sattvic Meals
Parmarth School of Yoga: courses and retreats200hr Yoga Teacher Training Course
Parmarth School of Yoga: courses and retreatsSeptember 27, 2026 - October 23, 2026
Parmarth School of Yoga: courses and retreats
4.Why Rishikesh
Rishikesh has a concentration of ashrams and yoga schools on the Ganga that the state tourism board promotes as the yoga capital of the world, an annual International Yog Festival organised by the board, and an airport 21 km away with daily Delhi flights.
- According to Uttarakhand Tourism: Uttarakhand Tourism describes Rishikesh as commonly referred to as the yoga capital of the world, with numerous ashrams, some internationally recognised as centres of yoga and philosophical studies.
Source text, Rishikesh (destination page), checked 13 Sep 2026
Rishikesh is commonly referred to as the ‘yoga capital of the world’ and rightly so. The destination is abuzz with visitors, who come here to learn yoga and meditation. Rishikesh has numerous ashrams, some of which are internationally recognised as centres of philosophical studies, yoga and other ancient Indian traditions of wellness.
Rishikesh (destination page)
- According to Uttarakhand Tourism: The Uttarakhand Tourism Development Board organises the annual International Yog Festival in Rishikesh.
Source text, Rishikesh (destination page), checked 13 Sep 2026
The Uttarakhand Tourism Development Board organises the annual International Yog Festival (IYF) here, which attracts thousands of yoga enthusiasts.
Rishikesh (destination page)
- According to Uttarakhand Tourism: Uttarakhand Tourism's Reconnect page lists yoga centres including Yoga Niketan Ashram, Ved Niketan and Parmarth Niketan in Rishikesh; a listing is official tourism promotion, not a credential.
Source text, Reconnect Uttarakhand: Wellness, Yoga & Nature Retreats (yoga centres listed), checked 13 Sep 2026
Yoga Niketan Ashram
Reconnect Uttarakhand: Wellness, Yoga & Nature Retreats (yoga centres listed)Ved Niketan, Rishikesh
Reconnect Uttarakhand: Wellness, Yoga & Nature Retreats (yoga centres listed)Parmarth Niketan - Rishikesh
Reconnect Uttarakhand: Wellness, Yoga & Nature Retreats (yoga centres listed)
5.Typical program and accommodation cost: published examples
Published examples in the provider's currency, with the date checked. Ashram tariffs are per day per room or per retreat; what is included is as the provider states it. Examples, not averages.
All 3 examples are from one provider, Yoga Niketan Ashram, so they show one provider's range and nothing wider.
| Program | Published price | Stay | Meals | Transfer | Classification or listing | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Ashram living experience (day-wise) Yoga Niketan Ashram, 1 day / 1 night | INR 1,500 to 3,600 per day per room, from a single non-AC room (INR 1500) to a double AC room (INR 3600), including three meals, two yoga and two meditation sessions The upper figure is the double AC room (INR 3600), quoted separately. PUBLISHED | yes | yes | no | Listed on Uttarakhand Tourism's Reconnect page | Published page checked 13 Sep 2026 |
Yogic Lifestyle Retreat, 3 days / 2 nights Yoga Niketan Ashram, 3 days / 2 nights | INR 13,000 all-inclusive retreat charge per person, also printed as $150 USD PUBLISHED | yes | yes | no | Listed on Uttarakhand Tourism's Reconnect page | Published page checked 13 Sep 2026 |
Yogic Lifestyle Retreat, 5 days Yoga Niketan Ashram, 5 days / 4 nights | INR 13,000 retreat charge per person as printed ($150 USD); the page prints the same figure for 3 and 5 days, so confirm with the ashram Printed identical to the 3-day charge on the provider's page. Shown as published; the ashram confirms. PUBLISHED | yes | yes | no | Listed on Uttarakhand Tourism's Reconnect page | Published page checked 13 Sep 2026 |
6.Travel cost from your origin
Per person, return. RECENTLY OBSERVED lines are the median of the cheapest fares we recorded on several days for this route; ESTIMATED lines are the distance-and-mode rule from how we calculate, used only where no fare has been observed.
| From | Return flight, per person | Label | How |
|---|---|---|---|
| New York | $2,794 | ESTIMATED | no observed fare held; distance estimate, 11,641 km each way, return |
| London | $1,600 | ESTIMATED | no observed fare held; distance estimate, 6,667 km each way, return |
| Delhi | $160 | ESTIMATED | no observed fare held; distance estimate, 193 km each way, return |
| Dubai | $800 | ESTIMATED | no observed fare held; distance estimate, 2,325 km each way, return |
| Nairobi | $1,346 | ESTIMATED | no observed fare held; distance estimate, 5,607 km each way, return |
| Lagos | $1,966 | ESTIMATED | no observed fare held; distance estimate, 8,192 km each way, return |
| Accra | $2,061 | ESTIMATED | no observed fare held; distance estimate, 8,586 km each way, return |
| Douala | $1,852 | ESTIMATED | no observed fare held; distance estimate, 7,718 km each way, return |
| Addis Ababa | $1,133 | ESTIMATED | no observed fare held; distance estimate, 4,722 km each way, return |
| Dar es Salaam | $1,403 | ESTIMATED | no observed fare held; distance estimate, 5,845 km each way, return |
| Entebbe | $1,411 | ESTIMATED | no observed fare held; distance estimate, 5,879 km each way, return |
| Johannesburg | $1,975 | ESTIMATED | no observed fare held; distance estimate, 8,230 km each way, return |
| Kinshasa | $1,851 | ESTIMATED | no observed fare held; distance estimate, 7,710 km each way, return |
| Dhaka | $500 | ESTIMATED | no observed fare held; distance estimate, 1,390 km each way, return |
| Riyadh | $800 | ESTIMATED | no observed fare held; distance estimate, 3,165 km each way, return |
| Abuja | $1,840 | ESTIMATED | no observed fare held; distance estimate, 7,667 km each way, return |
| Doha | $800 | ESTIMATED | no observed fare held; distance estimate, 2,680 km each way, return |
7.Visa and entry
We have not yet checked India's tourist entry rules against the official pages. Which visa applies, and what it costs, depends on your passport and the length and nature of the programme: confirm on the official portal before booking.
Indian e-Visa portal (Government of India)
- According to Government of India (indianvisaonline.gov.in): The Government of India's e-Visa portal lists attending a short term yoga programme among the purposes of the e-Tourist visa; eligibility, category and fee depend on the passport and must be confirmed on the portal.
Source text, Indian e-Visa (official portal), checked 13 Sep 2026
attending a short term yoga programme
Indian e-Visa (official portal)e-Visa fee is country/Territory specific.
Indian e-Visa (official portal)
- According to Government of India (indianvisaonline.gov.in): The same portal lists medical treatment including treatment under Indian systems of medicine as a purpose; which category applies to a residential Ayurveda programme is a question for the portal, and treatment for a condition is the medical lane, not this page.
Source text, Indian e-Visa (official portal), checked 13 Sep 2026
medical treatment including treatment under Indian systems of medicine
Indian e-Visa (official portal)
- According to Kerala Tourism: Kerala Tourism's own advice is to check visa requirements for your nationality.
Source text, 20 Things to Know Before you Visit Kerala, checked 13 Sep 2026
Visa Requirements: Check visa requirements based on your nationality.
20 Things to Know Before you Visit Kerala
Travelling for treatment of a condition is a different visa question: medical visas by passport.
8.Food and dietary options
Ashram programmes include sattvic vegetarian meals, and the providers below say so on their own pages. We hold no official tourism source on food in Rishikesh and no sourced meal prices, so the journey block estimates food outside the programme from the destination's daily figure and labels it ESTIMATED.
| Program | Meals included | Food, as the provider describes it | Vegetarian | Vegan |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yoga Niketan Ashram: Ashram living experience (day-wise) | yes | Sattvic vegetarian ashram meals | yes | not stated |
| Yoga Niketan Ashram: Yogic Lifestyle Retreat, 3 days / 2 nights | yes | Sattvic vegetarian ashram meals | yes | not stated |
| Yoga Niketan Ashram: Yogic Lifestyle Retreat, 5 days | yes | Sattvic vegetarian ashram meals | yes | not stated |
- According to Yoga Niketan Ashram (provider): Yoga Niketan Ashram serves sattvic vegetarian meals prepared in the ashram kitchen.
Source text, Yoga Niketan Ashram: Yogic Lifestyle Retreat (charges), checked 13 Sep 2026
All our food is prepared in ashram’s peaceful and clean kitchen in sattvic way.
Yoga Niketan Ashram: Yogic Lifestyle Retreat (charges)Sattvic breakfast, lunch & Dinner
Yoga Niketan Ashram: Yogic Lifestyle Retreat (charges)
- According to Parmarth Niketan (provider): Parmarth Niketan's courses include ashram accommodation and freshly prepared vegetarian sattvic meals; its 200-hour teacher training runs 27 September to 23 October 2026 and its Vedanta course is one week.
Source text, Parmarth School of Yoga: courses and retreats, checked 13 Sep 2026
Accommodation in Beautiful Parmarth Niketan Ashram
Parmarth School of Yoga: courses and retreatsFreshly Prepared Vegetarian Sattvic Meals
Parmarth School of Yoga: courses and retreats200hr Yoga Teacher Training Course
Parmarth School of Yoga: courses and retreatsSeptember 27, 2026 - October 23, 2026
Parmarth School of Yoga: courses and retreats
9.Weather and best time
Uttarakhand Tourism gives no month-by-month climate figures for Rishikesh on its destination page, so none are shown. What it does say is quoted below.
- According to Uttarakhand Tourism: Uttarakhand Tourism describes Rishikesh as a holy town with pleasant weather throughout the year, and names September to June as the best rafting months; we hold no official month-by-month climate figures for Rishikesh.
Source text, Rishikesh (destination page), checked 13 Sep 2026
Holy town with pleasant weather throughout the year
Rishikesh (destination page)September to June are the best months to experience rafting.
Rishikesh (destination page)
10.Airport and local transport
Airport, rail and road as Uttarakhand Tourism describes them. Airport transfer prices are not held; the ashram examples say pickup is available at extra charge.
| Provider | Nearest airport | Transfer included | Local transport note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Yoga Niketan Ashram, Rishikesh | DED | no | Airport pickup can be organised at extra charge |
| Yoga Niketan Ashram, Rishikesh | DED | no | Airport pickup and drop not included; can be organised at extra charge |
- According to Uttarakhand Tourism: Jolly Grant Airport (Dehradun) is the nearest airport, about 21 km from Rishikesh, with daily flights to Delhi and taxis to town.
Source text, Rishikesh (destination page), checked 13 Sep 2026
Jolly Grant Airport is the nearest Airport to Rishikesh situated at a distance of 21kms. Taxis are easily available from Jolly Grant Airport to Rishikesh. Jolly Grant Airport is well connected to Delhi with daily flights.
Rishikesh (destination page)
- According to Uttarakhand Tourism: Rishikesh has a railway station with frequent trains, buses from Delhi ISBT Kashmiri Gate, and taxis and buses to Muni-ki-Reti and Swargashram.
Source text, Rishikesh (destination page), checked 13 Sep 2026
Trains to Rishikesh Railway station are frequent. Taxis and buses are easily available from Rishikesh to Muni-ki-Reti and Swargashram.
Rishikesh (destination page)Luxury and normal Buses to Rishikesh are easily available from Delhi ISBT Kashmiri Gate and Meerut.
Rishikesh (destination page)
- According to Yoga Niketan Ashram (provider): The 3-day retreat includes accommodation, food, yoga and meditation sessions and lectures; airfare, personal expenses and airport transfers are not included.
Source text, Yoga Niketan Ashram: Yogic Lifestyle Retreat (charges), checked 13 Sep 2026
3 days - 2 Nights yogic lifestyle retreat in traditional ashram, established in 1964 Hatha Yoga | Meditation | Therapeutic Yoga | Soulful Music
Yoga Niketan Ashram: Yogic Lifestyle Retreat (charges)Pickup/Drop off from the school to airport
Yoga Niketan Ashram: Yogic Lifestyle Retreat (charges)Airport pickup/drop can be organised (extra charges applicable)
Yoga Niketan Ashram: Yogic Lifestyle Retreat (charges)
11.How to evaluate a provider
Separate three claims: a listing (the state tourism board lists the centre), a credential (a named body certifies the school or a teacher), and a testimonial. Only the first two can be checked, and each against its own source.
- ✓Is the centre listed by Uttarakhand Tourism, and is that listing current?
- ✓If the school claims a Yoga Alliance registration, does its name appear in the Yoga Alliance directory today?
- ✓If the school claims Government of India (Yoga Certification Board) accreditation, can it show the certificate and its validity dates?
- ✓What is the daily timetable, who teaches, and how large are the groups?
- ✓What does the price include: room type, meals, number of sessions, airport pickup?
- ✓What are the ashram's rules on arrival, and what happens if you leave early?
12.Accreditation and certification: what each credential means
Yoga Alliance registration (RYS 200, 300, 500) is a private US membership registry with published curriculum hours; a school pays to hold it and trainees review the school. The Government of India's Yoga Certification Board, under the Ministry of Ayush, accredits yoga institutions and training centres and certifies practitioners. On 13 September 2026 its website refused every connection, so this page quotes nothing from it and lists no YCB centre; a school's YCB claim is checked on the board's own site, when it is reachable, never taken from the school.
Yoga Certification Board (Ministry of Ayush, Government of India) (https://yogacertificationboard.nic.in/): The site refused every connection on 13 Sep 2026 (curl, a browser and a second fetcher all failed), so none of its categories or accredited centres is quoted or listed.
- According to Yoga Alliance: Yoga Alliance's school credentials are RYS 200, RYS 300 and RYS 500 (foundational 200-hour, advanced 300-hour and comprehensive 500-hour teacher training), plus RCYS for children's yoga and RPYS for prenatal yoga.
Source text, Explore Credentialing Options (RYS 200, 300, 500), checked 13 Sep 2026
A foundational 200-hour teacher training program covering essential techniques, anatomy, philosophy, and professional development.
Explore Credentialing Options (RYS 200, 300, 500)An advanced 300-hour training that builds upon foundational teaching knowledge and refines expertise in sequencing, methodology, and specialized instruction.
Explore Credentialing Options (RYS 200, 300, 500)A comprehensive 500-hour training that integrates both foundational (200-hour) and advanced (300-hour) training, preparing teachers for deeper knowledge and leadership.
Explore Credentialing Options (RYS 200, 300, 500)
- According to Yoga Alliance: Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit membership registry: schools pay an application fee and an annual fee per credential, and trainees submit reviews. It is not a government licence.
Source text, Explore Credentialing Options (RYS 200, 300, 500), checked 13 Sep 2026
Application Fee: One-time fee of $400
Explore Credentialing Options (RYS 200, 300, 500)Annual Membership Fee: $240 per credential
Explore Credentialing Options (RYS 200, 300, 500)Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6).
Explore Credentialing Options (RYS 200, 300, 500)
- According to Parmarth Niketan (provider): Parmarth says a residential course ends with a certificate and that its YTTC graduates are eligible to register as 200-hour teachers with Yoga Alliance, USA; that is a private registry, not a Government of India certification.
Source text, Parmarth School of Yoga: courses and retreats, checked 13 Sep 2026
Upon completion of one of our residential courses, you will receive a certificate. If you completed the YTTC, you are also eligible to register as 200-hour teacher with the Yoga Alliance, USA, at international standard.
Parmarth School of Yoga: courses and retreats
Yoga Certification Board site unreachable on the check date; no YCB category or centre is quoted.
13.Sample 5-day journey
Illustrative 5-day shape, built from the published 3-day retreat timetable and Uttarakhand Tourism's transport facts. Illustrative only.
| Day 0 | Fly into Delhi (or Jolly Grant, Dehradun, 21 km away); bus or taxi to Rishikesh; check in at the ashram before the evening timetable. |
| Day 1 | Morning meditation and hatha yoga; sattvic breakfast; afternoon lecture; evening meditation and dinner, as the provider's timetable reads. |
| Days 2 to 4 | Two yoga and two meditation sessions a day; rest; Ganga aarti at Triveni Ghat or Parmarth Niketan in the evening. |
| Day 5 | Closing session; transfer to the airport (not included in the examples; the ashram can arrange it at extra charge). |
| Note | Illustrative only. Timetables are the provider's; no practice plan is invented here. |
14.Estimated complete journey cost
Program (a published example), stay, flight from your origin, food outside the program, local transport, a 7% buffer shown separately, and a comfortable budget. Visa is named, never added. Each line carries the label from how we calculate.
Choose your city to price the flight. The program, stay, food and local transport lines are shown once an origin is chosen, so the table is always for a whole journey.
Requesting options logs your origin, trip length, party size and what you are looking for, nothing else. Providers list free; see the partner pledge.
15.Sources and last verified
Data quality, line by line. Labels are the six from how we calculate.
- PUBLISHEDprogram duration:provider published
- PUBLISHEDprogram price:provider published, checked Sep 2026
- PUBLISHEDcentre classification or listing:Uttarakhand Tourism listing; Yoga Certification Board not reachable on the check date
- PUBLISHEDvisa:government portal named; tourist rules not held
- RECENTLY OBSERVEDflight:TravelVulture observed fare where one exists, otherwise a distance estimate labelled ESTIMATED
- ESTIMATEDstay, food outside the program, local transport:TravelVulture rule-based planning figures from the destination's daily figure
- PUBLISHEDweather and transport facts:official tourism source, quoted, with the date checked
- Indian e-Visa (official portal) Government of India; government; checked 13 Sep 2026.
- 20 Things to Know Before you Visit Kerala Kerala Tourism; official tourism; checked 13 Sep 2026.
- Parmarth School of Yoga: courses and retreats Parmarth Niketan, Rishikesh (listed by Uttarakhand Tourism); provider published; checked 13 Sep 2026. Course dates and inclusions are published; fees are not printed on the page.
- Reconnect Uttarakhand: Wellness, Yoga & Nature Retreats (yoga centres listed) Uttarakhand Tourism Development Board; official tourism; checked 13 Sep 2026.
- Rishikesh (destination page) Uttarakhand Tourism Development Board; official tourism; checked 13 Sep 2026.
- Explore Credentialing Options (RYS 200, 300, 500) Yoga Alliance (a private, US-registered nonprofit; not a government body); credential body; checked 13 Sep 2026.
- Yoga Niketan Ashram: Yogic Lifestyle Retreat (charges) Yoga Niketan Ashram, Rishikesh (listed by Uttarakhand Tourism); provider published; checked 13 Sep 2026.
- Yoga Niketan Ashram: Book Your Stay (ashram living, day-wise tariff) Yoga Niketan Ashram, Rishikesh (listed by Uttarakhand Tourism); provider published; checked 13 Sep 2026.
16.Next step
This is information, not advice. Wellness is not medical treatment; the provider and the government decide.